Tuesday, October 23, 2007

Female Nobel Peace Prize Laureates Rally for Daw Aung San Suu Kyi

These six women (Jody Williams, Shirin Ebadi, Wangari Maathai, Rigoberta Menchú Tum, Betty Williams and Mairead Corrigan Maguire) banded together in 2006 with the desire to promote justice, equality, and peace worldwide. One of the areas the devote attention to is Burma, and that attention has increased in recent months.

On Wednesday, the Nobel Peace Prize recipients jointly requested that the United Nations take immediate action to guarantee the release of Aung San Suu Kyi from house arrest. She is the only imprisoned Nobel laureate.

Read more of the story here, and visit the Nobel Women's Initiative site here.

No comments: